Willowbank News and Media« Back to News


Article Date: 15 September 2014

In less than two weeks Roma’s Ironbark Raceway will be set upon by up to 100 local and visiting drag racers for the Grand Finale of the 2014 JP Racing Eighth Mile Drag Racing Series.

As the Series and its racers head to the big finish, the championship chase for all six brackets is alive and well, with some brackets having only one point between the top two and multiple racers in contention. For the points ladders for each bracket, please click here.

Series organiser John Winterburn said that local racers will face off against competitors who call the racing facilities of Warwick, Gladstone and Willowbank home, in the final hurrah for the 2014 Series which brings prestige racing to the regional facilities of South East Queensland.

“The countdown to the grand finale for 2014’s JP Racing Eighth Mile Drag Racing Series is well and truly on, and I for one can’t wait to get on-track at Roma’s Ironbark Raceway on the 27th of September,” said Winterburn.

“This Series just keeps going from strength to strength, and I couldn’t be more excited to see the continually growing level of racer participation, sponsor support and quality racing as we take in some of South East Queensland’s finest regional drag racing venues.

“With the points chase heading into this year’s grand finale especially close, I think the laid back atmosphere we are so well known for might be slightly less relaxed this time around, as the racers and their support teams try to edge out their competitors for the Series trophy.

“When all is said and done however, this is all about having a great time in some great locations, and what better location for the grand finale than Roma’s Ironbark Raceway!”

Racers in all brackets are asked to nominate a ‘home track’ for the Series. Leading the way to Ironbark Raceway will be points leaders Rodney Hanson (FG Loy & Sons Earthmoving Eighth Mile Outlaws – Willowbank), Alexis Barbeler (Diamond T Products Junior Dragster – Benaraby), Ian Ham (RD Williams Excavator Parts Modified – Warwick), Michael Beaton (Queensland Nameplate Group Modified Bike – Willowbank), Laurie Fitzgerald (Ice Slushee Super Sedan – Roma) and Rob Price (John William Auto Sales Super Street – Willowbank) - for the current points ladder (top five) please see the end of this release).

Ironbark Raceway’s Grand Finale of the 2014 JP Racing Eighth Mile Drag Racing Series will take place on Saturday 27 September 2014. Entries are available on the day and spectator tickets will be available for purchase at the gate at $15.00 for adults. Children aged 15 and under gain free admission. Gates open at 8.00am with time trials from 11.00am to 3.00pm and racing from 4.00pm.

For more information on the 2014 JP Racing Eighth Mile Drag Racing Series, including information on rules, how to enter and the points system, please visit to www.willowbankraceway.com.au

2014 JP Racing Eighth Mile Drag Racing Series Points – Top Five

FG Loy & Sons Earthmoving Eighth Mile Outlaws
1. Rodney Hansen – 104 points
2. John Loy – 96 points
3. Warrick Baczynski – 83 points
4. Russell Grulke – 82 points
5. Peter Baczynski – 80 points

Diamond T Products Junior Dragster
1. Alexis Barbeler – 99 points
2. Dylan Leo – 88 points
3. Joshua Langridge – 85 points
4. Christopher Schaper – 55 points
5. Oscar Isherwood – 52 points

RD Williams Excavator Parts Modified
1. Ian Ham – 103 points
2. Andrew Pinkstone – 97 points
3. Joshua Mohr – 64 points
4. Michael Cameron – 62 points
5. Matthew Loy – 54 points

Queensland Nameplate Group Modified Bike
1. Michael Beaton – 99 points
2. Simon Stevens – 98 points
3. Matt Halpin – 94 points
4. Josh Halpin – 89 points
5. Noel Bartley – 87 points

Ice Slushee Super Sedan
1. Laurie Fitzgerald – 95 points
2. Gary Clarke – 94 points
3. Michael Schaper – 92 points
4. David Gall – 85 points
5. Anthony Whyatt – 83 points

John William Auto Sales Super Street
1. Rob Price – 97 points
2. Robert Winterburn – 96 points
3. Daryl Freeman – 93 points
4. Keith Suridge – 93 points
5. Nathan Jannusch – 91 points

For full current points standings, please click here.

Final Round – 27 September, 2013: Ironbark Raceway, Roma QLD

Racing brackets:
RD Williams Excavator Parts MODIFIED BRACKET
Queensland Nameplate Group MODIFIED BIKE BRACKET
John William Auto Sales SUPER STREET BRACKET

Photo: Rodney Hansen current leader of the FG Loy & Sons Eighth Mile Outlaws Bracket.
Photo Credit: blacktrack.com.au

« Back To News

Proudly Sanctioned by

Event Results

Event Galleries

Willowbank Shop

Local Weather Forecast